cde3m banner 1

The CDE3M Team



Dr. Mike Kirby (University of Utah)

Program Manager

Lead for Area D: Cross-Cutting Themes


Dr. Kirby received his B.Sc. in Applied Mathematics and Computer and Information Sciences from The Florida State University in 1997. He received his M.Sc. in Applied Mathematics from Brown University in 1999 and received a M.Sc. in Computer Science from Brown University in 2001. In August 2002 he completed his Ph.D. in Applied Mathematics at Brown University. Since then he has been at the University of Utah where he is currently an Associate Professor in the School of Computing and a faculty member of the Scientific Computing and Imaging Institute. His research focus is on large-scale scientific computing and visualization, with an emphasis on the scientific cycle of mathematical modeling, computation, visualization, evaluation, and understanding.


Dr. Dmitry Bedrov (University of Utah)

Assistant Program Manager

Lead for Area A: Electrochemical Energy Devices


Dmitry Bedrov is a Research Associate Professor at the Department of Materials Science & Engineering at the University of Utah. In 1995 he received the B.S. degree in Thermophysics with honors from the Odessa State Academy of Refrigeration (Ukraine) and in 1999 he obtained his Ph.D. in Chemical &Fuels Engineering from the University of Utah. His research interest lies in the area of multiscale modeling of soft-condensed matter systems that exhibit complex, multiscale structure often arising from molecular and super-molecular self-assembly. He applies ab initio quantum chemistry calculations, atomistic and coarse-grained molecular dynamics simulations to establish correlations between structural, conformational, thermodynamic, transport and mechanical properties on atomistic, molecular, mesoscopic and macroscopic scales. He has more than 100 publications in peer-reviewed journals, numerous invited talks at national and international conferences and in 2011 has been awarded with Fellowship for Experienced Researchers by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (Germany).


Dr. Enrico Bellotti (Boston University)

Lead for Area B: Hybrid Photonic Devices


Dr. Michael Shur (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)

Lead for Area C: Heterogeneous Metamorphic Materials


Michael Shur joined RPI in 1996. He has held research or faculty positions at the University of Virginia as the John Money Professor and the Director of Applied Electrophysics Laboratories, A.F. Ioffe Institute, Cornell, and the University of Minnesota. He is Fellow of IEEE, IET,APS, ECS, AAAS, and Vice-President for publications of IEEE Sensor Council. He received the van der Ziel Award from the International Semiconductor Device Research Symposium in 1999, the Senior Humboldt Research Award in 2002, IEEE Donald Fink Best Paper Award in 2007, and IEEE Kirchmayer Award in 2007.


Area A: Electrochemical Energy Devices Team


Faculty Lead: Dmitry Bedrov (University of Utah)

Valeria Molinero (University of Utah)

Adri van Duin (PennState University)

George Karniadakis (Brown University)

Mike Kirby (University of Utah)

Martin Berzins(University of Utah)

ARL Collaborators

Oleg Borodin (Army Research Laboratory)

Cynthia Lundgren (Army Research Laboratory)

Richard T Jow (Army Research Laboratory)

Kyle Grew (Army Research Laboratory)

Deryn Chu (Army Research Laboratory)


Area B: Hybrid Photonic Devices Team


Faculty Lead: Dr. Enrico Bellotti (Boston University)

Luca Dal Negro (Boston University)

Michael Shur (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)

Giuseppe Vecchi (Politecnico di Torino)

ARL Collaborators

Michael Wraback (Army Research Laboratory)

Meredith Reed (Army Research Laboratory)

Gregory Garret (Army Research Laboratory)

Anand Sampath (Army Research Laboratory)

Sergey Rudin (Army Research Laboratory)

Greg Rupper (Army Research Laboratory)

Kenneth Jones (Army Research Laboratory)


Area C: Heterogeneous Metamorphic Materials Team


Faculty Lead: Dr. Michael Shur (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)

Enrico Bellotti (Boston University)

ARL Collaborators

Sergey Rudin (Army Research Laboratory)

Greg Rupper (Army Research Laboratory)

Madan Dubey (Army Research Laboratory)

Terrance O'Regan (Army Research Laboratory)

Frank Crowne (Army Research Laboratory)

Glen Birdwell (Army Research Laboratory)

Michael Wraback (Army Research Laboratory)

Grace Metcalfe (Army Research Laboratory)

Paul Shen (Army Research Laboratory)

Pankaj Shah (Army Research Laboratory)


Area D: Cross-Cutting Themes Team


Faculty Lead: Dr. Mike Kirby (University of Utah)

Valeria Molinero (University of Utah)

Tom Miller (Caltech)

George Karniadakis (Brown University)

Dmitry Bedrov (University of Utah)

Martin Berzins (University of Utah)